My Earliest Memory “Blizzard Of 1978”


My mom, brother and I were living in Columbus and it was late at night. I was already asleep and woke up to the sounds of objects banging up against the metal shed just outside my window. It scared the total crap out of me because I was just 6 years old and I didn’t know what it was LOL So I just hid under my blankets as if there were a monster outside.

Somehow I went back to sleep and in the morning, I remember asking my mom “Mommy, can we go somewhere today?” and she answered “No, how are we going to do that?” Puzzled, I answered “We will get in the car!”

Image: ColumbusOnCamera.com

Then she walked into the kitchen and opened the back door leading to out back yard and the snow was so high outside the door we couldn’t get out of it! It was the most exciting thing I’d ever seen at such a young age! It felt like a gift from my mom! LOL

I don’t even recall seeing snow before that day. And I don’t remember playing in it the days after the storm, I can only recall those few moments about that day.

Most people don’t have fond memories of that day. After reading some articles about it, over 70 people died in that storm; 51 Ohioans died: 22 died while walking away from stranded vehicles; 13 died in their vehicles; 13 perished in unheated homes; two people were killed in buildings that collapsed; and another person died of an unspecified cause. Livestock perished, species of birds died off & food was getting scarce.

It was an exhausting, sad day (that turned into weeks) for adults but one of the best memories I have as a child.

A day I’ll never forget.

Speak Your Peace!

