My Dream Last Night (When a Pet Dies, a poem)


I once had a white Samoyed Husky named Ragin’. He was 11 years old when he was put to sleep.

At the beginning of my dream, a friend of mine, Shawn & Pride and a couple of their friends I didn’t know came over and it was really late at night. I was living in my mom’s old farm house. She was sleeping upstairs and the music was loud, Shawn & Pride were yelling over the music and I kept telling them to be quiet because my mom was asleep.

I also remember pulling gobs of gum from out of my teeth. I have that dream a lot, usually I’m puking up a caviar textured stuff in excessive amounts but this is my first gum dream. LOL I was trying to get it out without anyone noticing.
So we were just hanging out, listening to music and I noticed this white fluffy dog just standing there looking at me, wagging his tail, panting. Only he looked a little odd. I started petting him, and after a few minutes,, I looked down at his 2 front legs and noticed they were shaved on his doggy-forearms.

“It’s Ragin’!” i yelled ecstacially. “He’s been dead for 4 years! How is he here!?”

Ragin had surgery a couple years before he died and they shaved his forearm to put in an IV.

So I’m happy that I’m petting my old dead dog and I hear sirens. Not paying attention to them, I suddenly hear Shawn upstairs yelling my name, Kara! Kara! There’s a fire in the attic! One of the kittens caught on fire!”
I stayed in the basement basically until I knew they had taken the dead cat out. I didn’t want to see that. My left hand was swollen and hurting for some reason, it was related to the fire even though I hadn’t been upstairs.

I started smelling smoke and went upstairs to the living room and there stood my mom in her nightgown, talking with one of the firemen about what happened. “Oh you’re up?” she asked me. I was a little embarrassed that she didn’t know I had friends over and we were all being really loud downstairs LOL But she had no clue so I answered, “Yes” and I went on to tell my mom we needed to get the furnaced checked, told her the house wasn’t safe.

She told me she was just talking to the fireman about that and to call the station and schedule an inspection (even though my roof was probably gaping wide open from the fire that just occurred LOL).

My dream ended here because I woke up…
But the weird thing is, I only saw Ragin for those brief minutes before the fire, like he was there to get the kitten that died and take it with him over the Rainbow Bridge, where all animals go when they die.

The Rainbow Bridge

There is a bridge connecting Heaven and Earth. It is called the “Rainbow Bridge” because of it’s many colors.
Just this side of the Rainbow Bridge there is a land of meadows, hills and valleys with lush green grass.

When a beloved pet dies, the pet goes to this place. There is always food and water and warm spring weather. The old and frail animals are young again. Those who are maimed are made whole again. They play all day with each other.

There is only one thing missing. They are not with their special person who loved them on Earth. So each day they run and play until the day comes when all those pets you have loved suddenly stop playing and look into the distance. Their bright eyes are intent, their eager bodies quiver. Suddenly they begin to run from the group, flying over the green grass, their legs carrying them faster and faster.

You have been spotted, and when you and your special friends meet, you take them in your arms and embrace in a joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face, your hands again caress the beloved heads and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pets, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

Then you cross the Rainbow Bridge together. Never again to be separated.

One thought on “My Dream Last Night (When a Pet Dies, a poem)

Speak Your Peace!

