RSS Feeds : A How-To Guide


If you’re not an internet techie, you probably don’t know what an RSS feed is OR how to use them.
Point in case: Me. LOL I just recently (even with my internet knowledge) found out how to use it.
I knew what it was but had no idea how to make it work.

Basically, when you subscribe to my blog, your bookmarking my page so that you can be updated on new posts.

How do I do it?

The first thing you’ll want to do if you’re getting into reading sites via RSS is to hook yourself up with an RSS Feed Reader.

There are many feed readers going around with a variety of approaches and features – however a good place to start is with a couple of free and easy to use web based ones like Google Reader and Bloglines. Either one will do if you’re starting out (I use Google’s Reader) – as I say there are many others to choose from but to get started either of these are fairly easy to use and will help you work out the basics of RSS.

Both of these feed readers work a little like email. As you subscribe to feeds you’ll see that unread entries from the sites you’re tracking will be marked as bold. As you click on them you’ll see the latest update and can read it right there in the feed reader. You are given the option to click through to the actual site or move onto the next unread item – marking the last one as ‘read’.

The best way to learn how to use either Google Reader or Bloglines is to simply subscribe to some feeds and give it a go. Both have helpful help sections to get you up and running.

After you’ve hooked up with a reader, just click https://photographess.wordpress.com/feed/ and you’re subscribed to my RSS feed!

So there you have it. A mini course on RSS feeds! I hope you subscribe to my blog!

Ps: I LOVE comments!

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “RSS Feeds : A How-To Guide

  1. This is a great article on Google Reader and Bloglines where we can get the feed to your blog. Cool.

    • Thank you! I’m glad you think it’s helpful too! Honestly, I had to look it up before I posted this! LOL
      I’ve never used rss until now! Have a great night!

Speak Your Peace!

