Pregnancy & Infertility


I am watching ‘I didn’t know I was pregnant’ this morning and I started thinking about how difficult it was for me to get pregnant.

So, I thought I’d write about my experience with infertility, ovulation, TTC and Clomid. If you’re thinking about or taking Clomid then this article is for you.

When I married my 1st husband at 19 I wanted a baby after about one year of marriage. I knew already that I would have problems getting pregnant because I had never been pregnant and never used contraceptives with my high school boyfriend [Give me a break, we’re talking early 90’s when monogamous sex was safe]. Not to mention my aunt and my mother BOTH needed Clomid.

I went to my OBGYN and pretty much demanded Clomid. He said ok and gave me the Rx. I took it for about 3-4 months and my husband and I started having problems so I quit taking it. We separated a month later and I started dating someone else and guess what? I got pregnant.

Fast forward 6 years, my ex and I were divorced and I was with my 2nd husband. I wasn’t thinking about a baby, I was just enjoying raising my daughter. Him and I had been together 10 years and out of the blue, I was having funky discharge that I’d never experienced and I found out I was pregnant. TEN YEARS later!

I was ecstatic, my daughter would be a big sister, I had just turned 30 and I was in love with my husband. Then…I started bleeding. I went to the Dr who gave me the bad news.

You’re having a miscarriage.

I was devasted. I only got to enjoy pregnancy again for 12 days. That day I miscarried. I was so hurt and angry. Disappointed in my body. Just broken.
I made it my mission to have a successful pregnancy. I went into ‘baby mode’. I went back to my Dr after a month and asked for Clomid again.

I took it for only one month because I think the pressure of mechanical sex was hard on my husband. I failed again.

4 months later, I was pregnant again.
YES! WithOUT taking Clomid! It was especially nice because we conceived without our sex life being mechanical! We were both so happy!!

And now…I have not only my 16 year old daughter, but a 6 year old daughter, a 4yr old son and a 3 year old daughter.

The reason I wrote this was to educate some of you that if you’re not conceiving ON clomid, try taking breaks from it. I also learned that even though my menstrual periods were irregular, I WAS ovulation. However, when I did, I was crampy, therefore didn’t have sex. Who wants to have sex when you don’t feel good? I didn’t, and I was missing every chance to conceive.

* Learn your body.

That’s KEY in getting pregnant. If you feel crampy in the middle or near the end of your cycle, have sex! You may be ovulating. I did just that 3 or 4 days before I was supposed to start my period and got pregnant with my son. We thought we were playing safe too! LOL

*Take a break from Clomid
If nothing’s happening while taking it, quit taking it for 4 to 5 months and keep trying!

*Know the signs of ovulation.
Remember, when you feel crampy when you shouldn’t…you’re most likely ovulating. Don’t avoid sex. This is the best time!

Disclaimer: This blog in no way was written to hurt or discourage those who have tried every method possible to get pregnant. If you’ve tried everything and have yet to¬†conceive, please accept my apologies and I am sending tons of baby dust for you. This is just my personal experience in hopes of helping someone in my situation.

I hope this article helps at least ONE woman conceive. Please post any comments about your experience. I would love to hear them!

Speak Your Peace!

